Effective January 1, 2024
Carry Concealed Weapon (CCW) Policy Statement
California State Senate Bill 2 (SB 2) mandates that a licensing authority issue a CCW license to all qualified applicants, as outlined in Penal Code section 26150 (a) & (b).
The CCW license allows the licensee to carry a pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person where not restricted or prohibited by federal, state, or local law. Penal Code section 26230.
It is the goal of the Ripon Police Department that those persons who qualify for a CCW be issued one upon completion of the required application process. The Police Chief will fairly, objectively, and impartially consider all applications to carry concealed weapons in accordance with the law and this policy.
This policy is accessible to the public pursuant to Penal Code section 26160.
The Chief of Police shall issue a license upon proof of all the following:
- A completed standard application and payment of all associated fees as prescribed in Section 26190.
- The applicant is not a “disqualified person” to receive such a license, pursuant to Penal Code section 26202
- The applicant is at least 21 years of age and presents a valid California driver’s license or valid California identification card issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles as clear evidence of their identity and age. (Section 16400).
- The applicant resides with the city limits of Ripon. (Section 26150).
- The applicant has completed the required course of training; At least 16-hours in length for new applicants and at least 8-hours in length for renewal applicants. (Section 26165).
- The applicant is not prohibited by state or federal law from possessing, receiving, owning, or purchasing a firearm. (Section 26185(a)(2)).
- The applicant is the recorded owner, with the Department of Justice (DOJ), of the pistol, revolver, or other firearm for which the license will be issued.
CCW Application Process
All steps must be completed to be issued a license. Each application will be reviewed by The Ripon Police Department’s staff. Applications accepted will be individually investigated to determine eligibility. The licensee has the option of withdrawing the application at any time during the process.
Please note: The application requires information as to the applicant’s prior detentions, arrests, and criminal convictions, whether the applicant has been the subject of any order listed in paragraph (3) of subdivision (a) of Section 26202 (disqualified persons criteria) or a valid restraining, protective, or stay-away order issued by an out-of-state jurisdiction pursuant to laws concerning domestic violence, family law, protection of children or elderly persons, stalking, harassment, witness intimidation, or firearm possession, whether the applicant has previously been taken into custody as a danger to self or others under Section 5150 or Part 1.5 (commencing with Section 5585) of Division 5 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, assessed under Section 5151, admitted to a mental health facility under Section 5151 or 5152, or certified under Section 5250, 5260, or 5270.15 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, whether any licensing authority in this state or elsewhere has previously denied the applicant a license to carry a firearm or revoked such a license for any reason.
Applicants must provide the names and contact information of three persons willing to serve as references.
If applicable, at least one reference must be the applicant’s cohabitant, and at least one of reference must be a person described in Section 273.5(b): spouse or former spouse, cohabitant or former cohabitant, fiancé or fiancée, or someone with whom the applicant has, or previously had, an engagement or dating relationship, the mother or father of the applicant.